Formed 1886

Manawatu Rugby Football Union (MRU) is the governing body of the sport of Rugby union in the Manawatu province. The Union is based in the city of Palmerston North though its catchment area includes players and clubs from nearby towns in the province, including Ashhurst, Feilding, Rongotea, Linton, Bulls, Pahiatua, Woodville and Dannevirke.

Founded in 1886, Manawatu is one of New Zealand’s oldest rugby unions. In 1892, the MRU, amongst other Rugby Unions, was instrumental in the founding of the New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU).

Matches against Manawatu

  • 18Games
  • 5 Wins
  • 0 Draws
  • 13 Losses