Latest News

2019 Thames Valley Ranfurly Shield Training Squad Announced

2019 Thames Valley Ranfurly Shield Training Squad Announced

Thames Valley Rugby Head Coach Matthew Bartleet and Assistant Coaches David Harrison and Joe Murray have named the following players in a training squad to prepare for the Ranfurly Shield challenge against Mitre 10 Cup side, Otago at Wanaka Showgrounds on 13 July 2019.

A good number of last year’s Meads Cup winning side have returned for another season including 2018 New Zealand Heartland Player of the Year, Brett Ranga along with fellow 2018 New Heartland XV representatives, Sam McCahon and Glen McIntyre.

Newcomers to the rep team include Brooklyn Toia (Paeroa) Lance McIntyre (Waihou) Daniel Pearce (Waihou) Henry Ederveen (Hauraki North) in the forwards and Dylan Robinson (Cobras) Logan Mitchell (Hauraki North) Bobby Motuliki (Thames) and Regan Crosland (Mercury Bay) in the backs.

The loan players include some new faces such as Matty Axtens and Danny Kayes (both Mount Maunganui Sports) along with Kieran Lee (Melville) who was in the team last year.

Notable absentees include last year’s Co Captain, Shaun Hill and inspirational Number Eight, Alex Bradley.

Bartleet has advised that there are still two players to be added to the squad but details are yet to be confirmed.

The team will have a warm up game against the Corinthians on Wednesday 26 June at 7.30pm at the Paeroa Domain as part of the build up to the historic challenge against Otago.

The squad is as follows:

Thames Valley Rugby Union – Ranfurly Shield Training Squad 2019

  • Lance McIntyre – Waihou R&S Club
  • Sitiveni Tupou – Thames R&S Club
  • Sergio De La Fuente – Thames R&S Club
  • Te Huia Kutia – Thames R&S Club
  • Lance Easton – Tairua R&S Club
  • Glen McIntyre – Waihou R&S Club
  • Brooklyn Toai – Paeroa R&S Club
  • Connor McVerry – Mercury Bay R&S Club
  • Cameron Dromgool – COBRAS
  • Keegan Lewis – Waihou R&S Club
  • Brett Ranga – Waihi Athletic R&S Club
  • Henry Ederveen – Hauraki North R&S Club
  • Daniel Pearce – Waihou R&S Club
  • Matty Axtens – Mount Maunganui R&S Club
  • Ben Bonnar – Waihou R&S Club
  • Cole Berridge – Thames R&S Club
  • Reece Broughton – Thames R&S Club
  • Matt Fisher – Hauraki North R&S Club
  • Sam McCahon – Waihou R&S Club
  • Danny Kayes – Mount Maunganui R&S Club
  • Josh Law – Tairua R&S Club
  • Harry Lafituanai – Waihou R&S Club
  • Matiu Abraham – Thames R&S Club
  • Kieran Lee – Melville R&S Club
  • Dylan Robinson – COBRAS
  • Logan Mitchell – Hauraki North R&S Club
  • Bobby Motuliki – Thames R&S Club
  • Regan Crosland – Mercury Bay R&S Club