Latest News

Thames Valley U18’s Extended Squad

Under 18’s Representative Team 2018

Congratulations to the following 42 players who have been selected for the 2018 Thames Valley Under 18’s Representative Team Wider Training Squad.

Thames Valley, as part of the Northern Regions Rugby Council Competition Rules, have dispensation to allow U19’s players in the U18’s team for the Northern Regions Competition.

Taylin Amohanga – Waihi College
Antonio Anderson – Mercury Bay Area School
Luke Anderton – Whangamata RFC

Mason Bennett – Paeroa College
Austin Brear – Mercury Bay RFC

Luke Chambers – Thames High School
Cody Charlton – Paeroa College
Riley Christensen – Paeroa Rugby & Sports
Sage Conner-Smith – Thames High School

Shontayne Dare-Johnson – Te Aroha College
Keegan Dickey – Hauraki North

Baylee Edwards – Thames High School
Cade Eliot – Thames High School
Connor Emerson – Whangamata RFC

Zin Zan Fenton – Paeroa College

Lewis Goldby – Hauraki Plains College
Zac Gregory – Mercury Bay RFC
Keegan Gunner – Mercury Bay RFC

Adrian Hayward – Ngatea Rugby and Sports

Daniel Knox – Thames High School

Vinnie Lee – Thames High School

PJ McClean – Thames High School
Michael McKain – Paeroa College
Trinity McQueen – Mercury Bay Area School
Nirau McRae – Paeroa College
AJ Mead – Hauraki Plains College
Hayden Mulgrew – Waihou RFC

Jayden Parahi – Paeroa RSC
Blake Patterson – Tairua RSC

Joe Reynolds – Mercury Bay RFC
Baxter Richards – Thames RSC
Cameron Richards – Mercury Bay RFC
Josh Rowe – Waihou RFC

Devon Shirley – Hauraki Plains College
Cole Stephenson – Hauraki Plains College
Josiah Strange – Hauraki Plains College

Abraham Thompson – Waihi College
Dylan Thorburn – Hauraki Plains College
Shakahn Tokona – Te Aroha College

Bryson Williams-Oka – Paeroa College
Darion Williams-Oka – Paeroa College
Joshua Wirihana – Paeroa College

Commenting on the selection, rugby development officer Bill Cooksley stated:

“The biggest issue the coaching group currently have is the interest by players in being selected in this team – that is – the interest is fantastic. By naming an extended squad it gives those players who may have been in a team that hasn’t performed to expectations an opportunity to really showcase their skills in an environment containing the best in this age group. With the focus on both performance and development the mixture of both seasoned campaigners and up and coming talent will hopefully provide a continuing pathway for these young men into the Heartland U19’s in a year or 2 and – if they stay in the area – an opportunity at full heartland rugby level.

As always there will be some players who will be disappointed in missing out which, if you put a positive spin on it, can only be good for Thames Valley age grade rugby as it shows that the enthusiasm for playing for the union is increasing.”


First training is on Tuesday 14th August at the Paeroa Domain starting at 6.45pm.

There will be an overnight camp in Whitianga on Saturday 18th August as part of the continuing selection process whereby afterwards a final squad of 26 will be named on the Sunday.

First game is at Boyd Park in Te Aroha on 25th August against Northland Vikings. Kick off is at 12.30pm.

Anyone unavailable is to phone Mike Voykovich on 021851627 or Dwayne Mansell on 027 602 4076 in the first instance.