Latest News

Mercury Bay Crowned Thames Valley 7’s Champion for 2017

Busy Day at North to Conclude Sevens Programme

Club Sevens Report 11-7-2017

The Thames Valley Rugby Union has just completed a three week programme of Seven a Side Rugby tournaments culminating in the Club Championships at Waitakaruru last weekend.

The Secondary Schools tournament was held at Boyd Park, Te Aroha with a good turnout in all grades. This set the tone for the club competitions that followed in the next two weeks and some good quality sevens rugby was played as a result.

Mercury Bay Rugby Club hosted the Invitation Sevens Tournament at Lyon Park, Whitianga two weeks ago with nine teams entering. The tournament is open to local clubs first but not all participated, creating an opportunity for clubs outside the union to enter. Te Puna and Judea Rugby Clubs, both from the Bay of Plenty Union entered teams to compete alongside the locals.

The fledgling Paeroa combination produced a couple of high scoring results to come out on top in Pool A while Tairua also had a good trot to finish runners up in the same section. Mercury Bay A qualified second in Pool B behind Te Puna, who went through undefeated.

In the play off for third and fourth, Mercury Bay overran Tairua 38-5 while Te Puna dominated possession to take out the final 39-5 against Paeroa. The full list of results is:

Mercury Bay Sevens Results

Mercury Bay B 5 Tairua 29
Waihi Athletic 10 Paeroa 17
Mercury Bay A 27 Waihou 5
Te Puna 54 Cobras 0
Mercury Bay B 0 Waihi Athletic 29
Paeroa 28 Judea 0
Mercury Bay A 7 Te Puna 26
Waihou 21 Cobras 31
Mercury Bay B 0 Paeroa 54
Tairua 22 Judea7
Mercury Bay A 68 Cobras 7
Waihou 5 Te Puna 56
Waihi Athletic 35 Judea 12
Paeroa 31 Tairua 19
Te Puna 32 Waihou 0
Mercury Bay A 36 Cobras 28
Tairua 26 Waihi Athletic 19
Mercury Bay B 0 Judea 36

2nd Pool A v 2nd Pool B
Tairua 5 Mercury Bay A 38

1st Pool A v 1st Pool B
Paeroa 5 Te Puna 39

2017 Champions Te Puna

The Thames Valley Club Championship was held at Waitakaruru Domain last week with the competition reduced to six teams following a couple of late withdrawals. Hauraki North had a comfortable run through pool play and was top qualifier, going on to beat Cobras 34-0 in the semi finals. Mercury Bay led the way in the other section and met Waihou in the semi finals, winning 27-12. Cobras defeated Waihou in the play for third and fourth leaving Mercury Bay and Hauraki North to fight it out for the championship. The home side had beaten Mercury Bay convincingly in pool play but the visitors controlled possession from the first blast of the hooter and it was one way traffic for most of the final. Mercury Bay won the final 45-15 to claim the Championship Cup for the first time and end their season on a high note. The full list of results follows:

Thames Valley Club 7 a side Championships
Saturday 11 November 2017
Waitakaruru Domain

Draw and Results
Hauraki North 19 Paeroa 5
Waihi Athletic 17 Waihou 22
Cobras 21 Mercury Bay 33
Hauraki North 41 Waihou 0
Waihi Athletic 10 Mercury Bay 36
Cobras 24 Paeroa 24
Hauraki North 38 Mercury Bay 17
Waihi Athletic 22 Paeroa 36
Cobras 14 Waihou 29

Semi Finals
Hauraki North 34 Cobras 0
Mercury Bay 27 Waihou 12

Play Off 5th/6th
Waihi Athletic 12 Paeroa 19

Play Off 3rd/4th
Waihou 15 Cobras 22

Grand Final
Hauraki North 15 Mercury Bay 45

The rugby season continues this week with an Ultra Rip Schools tournament on Wednesday at Centennial Park in Paeroa. This will be the final rugby competition for the year.