Latest News

2016 Finals Archive

Finals Day at Rhodes Park, Thames

30 July 2016

The Club Rugby Finals Day has finally arrived and for six teams it’s the biggest day of the year as they head to Rhodes Park, Thames to battle it out for the right to be crowned champions of their respective grades.

The day starts off with the Senior A Reserve Final at 12.15pm between old rivals Coromandel and Whangamata. Coromandel go into the final as top qualifier, having taken out the Leach Cup for the second round while Whangamata had to ensure they won their last game to head off Hauraki North B’s for the other place in the final. Coromandel last appeared in the Lawrence Cup final two years ago, losing to Paeroa West and haven’t won the Cup since a memorable victory in 2011 against Mercury Bay in Te Aroha. Whangamata won the trophy in 2010 and again in 2013.

The Senior B final sees back to back McDonald Cup winner Waihi Athletic seeking a hat trick of titles when they meet Ngatea at 12.30pm on Field 4. Ngatea last enjoyed Finals Day success in 2009 when they won the Lawrence Cup and have not been to the Finals too often since so they will need to be on their game to prevent Waihi from making it three in a row.

Regardless of the outcome, Waihi Athletic will make history on Saturday as they make their first ever Grand Final appearance this year. Waihi has had a great year to date finishing runner up in both the first and second rounds of the Senior A competition and playing attractive running rugby to record some high scoring victories during the year. Their opponents, Waihou, have also had a top year, winning both the Silcock Shield and the Tom Jordan Cup on the way to the final. This will be their third final appearance in a row and their eighth final in the last twelve years. They will be playing for the McClinchy Cup, which is currently held by Waihou and Mercury Bay who drew last year’s final 22 all in Te Aroha. The final starts at 2.00pm

Thames Valley Senior Club Rugby Finals 2016

30 July 2016 at Rhodes Park, Thames

SENIOR A McClinchy Cup Final

Waihou v Waihi Athletic @ Field 1, 2.00pm

SENIOR A RESERVE Lawrence Memorial Cup

Coromandel v Whangamata @ Field 1, 12.15pm

SENIOR B McDonald Cup

Waihi Athletic v Ngatea @ Field 2, 12.30pm

2016 Senior A Semi Finals Week 2

It’s the second week of semi finals for the Senior Club Rugby teams. In the Senior A grade, Waihou earned a place in next week’s final by beating Waihi Athletic in Te Aroha last week. Waihi has a second chance to make the final when it meets Mercury Bay at Waihi tomorrow in the second Major semi final. Mercury Bay stayed in the play offs at the expense of Hauraki North, who they defeated 23-18 at Whitianga.

There are no semi finals in the Senior A Reserve, with the top two finishers going directly to the final in Thames next week. At this stage, Coromandel have qualified for the final but any one of three clubs can still win the Leach Cup for the second round of competition.

The Senior B semi finals take place tomorrow. Morrissey Cup winner, Thames meets fourth placed Ngatea at Rhodes Park at 2.00pm. Runner up, Waihi Athletic plays Waihou in the curtain raiser at Waihi at the earlier start time of 12.00pm

2016 Senior A Semi Finals

The Senior A Club competition has reached the semi final stage this week, with the top four teams, going on to play for the McClinchy Cup.

The format sees the first and second placed teams meeting in the first semi final and the third and fourth placed teams in the second semi final. The higher ranked teams host each game. The winner of the first semi final goes straight through to the Grand Final.

The loser plays the winner of the second semi final between the third and fourth placed teams the following week. The winner of that game also progresses to the Grand Final.

Top qualifiers, Waihou, took out the 2016 Tom Jordan Cup for the Second Round of competition, with a week to spare and they are at home at Boyd Park, Te Aroha to play runners up, Waihi Athletic.

Third placed Mercury Bay host Hauraki North at Lyon Park, Whitianga.

John Dustow will be the man in the middle at Boyd Park and Stephen Whyte will officiate at Whitianga

Both games start at 2.00pm