Latest News

Year by Year , Our History ~ 2015 ~

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Thames Valley Rugby Union.We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2016 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here



2015 Status:
Heartland Championship
Founded 1922
I.W.(Ian) Murphy
G.W.(Graham) Hallett
Edmond Leahy
H.P.(Hayden) Roe
Assistant Coach:
F.E.(Frank) Bunce
& A.C.(Alan) McLean
Main ground:
Paeroa Domain
Gold and Red

Thames Valley finished ninth in the round robin for the second year in a row. The three wins achieved were all against the teams that finished below them in the championship.

Chance Bunce, son of All Black Frank, captained the side from fullback and always looked to counter attack. The speedy wingers Lance Easton and Tyrone Keith both earned selection in the New Zealand Heartland team, Keith being the best debutant of the season and top try scorer including three against East Coast in just his third match. Fijian Nemani Talemaitoga was playing well at centre until injury ended his season. Moss Doran arrived from Poverty Bay and retained his position in the New Zealand Heartland team. Regular midfielder of past seasons Joe Murray found it hard to get a start until Talemaitoga’s injury. At first five-eighth loan player John Te Ruki-Chambers impressed and was the pick of the backline. David Harrison became the union’s ninth centurion. Debuting in 2004 he has made starting appearances in every backline position except halfback. He also added 26 more points to his record tally for Thames Valley and retired at the end of the season. Beau Hamilton and new rep Matthew Fisher both shared the halfback position.

The best of the forwards was Hayden Anderson at number eight. New Zealand born, he arrived during the season from Perth having earlier made the Australian Under 20 team. His five matches were enough to gain selection in the New Zealand Heartland team. In his second season Pedro Scardapane made a big advancement on last year. At lock Kent McFarlane played every game as did Hayden Wisnewski at hooker. Injuries to props had assistant coach Alan McLean coming out of representative retirement to play three matches at the age of 43, his experience being invaluable in the tight.

Of the 31 players who took the field, 16 were in their debut season. Missing from last year were Josh Turner, Richard Judd (both Counties Manukau), Matthew Hema (overseas), Blake Hill (Auckland), Brett Ranga (Bay of Plenty) and centurion Aaron McDonald (retired). With four players in the New Zealand Heartland team, Thames Valley had their best-ever representation.

Higher honours went to:

New Zealand Heartland: Lance Easton, Tyrone Keith, Moss Doran, Hayden Anderson

2015 Thames Valley Swampfoxes
2015 Match Record: Played 8 ; Won 3 ; Lost 5
Points : For 206 ; Against 257
1. August 22 vs Wairarapa Bush, at Paeroa
Lost 09 – 36
Thames Valley Scorers : —–
J.B.Te Ruki-Chambers (3) Penalty Goals
Referee: Mr.A.Aso (Japan)
 *note= this match was played under the standard points scoring of five points for a try etc.
2. August 29 vs Poverty Bay, at Gisborne
Won 43 – 37
Thames Valley Scorers : Talemaitoga (2), Bunce,Wisnewski, Doran,Murray, tries
D.Harrison (5) Conversions, J.B.Te Ruki-Chambers  (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr.M.C.J.Winter
3. September 5 vs East Coast, at Paeroa
Won 50 – 13
Thames Valley Scorers : Keith (3), Talemaitoga (2), Bunce, Easton, Johnson, tries
J.B.Te Ruki-Chambers (5) Conversions
Referee: Mr.D.G.Morrison
4. September 12 vs King Country, at Taupo
Lost 12 – 47
Thames Valley Scorers : Hifo (2), tries
C.Bunce (1) Conversion
Referee: Mr.A.W.Payne
5. September 19 vs South Canterbury, at Timaru
Lost 19 – 35
Thames Valley Scorers : M.S.Doran, Keith, Anderson, tries
J.B.Te Ruki-Chambers (1) Conversion, D.Harrison (1) Conversion
Referee: Mr.A.W.Payne
6. September 26 vs Wanganui, at Paeroa
Lost 27 – 47
Thames Valley Scorers : Easton (2), Renata, Wisnewski,  tries
J.B.Te Ruki-Chambers (2) Conversions, D.Harrison (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr.V.F.Ringrose
7. October 3 vs Buller, at Westport
Lost 17 – 25
Thames Valley Scorers : Johnson, M.S.Doran, tries
D.Harrison (2) Conversions, J.B.Te Ruki-Chambers (1) Penalty Goal
Referee: Mr.R.J.M.Gordon
8. October 10 vs West Coast, at Paeroa
Won 29 – 17
Thames Valley Scorers : Anderson, Elgoran, Johnson, Keith, tries
D.Harrison (2) Conversions,  (1) Penalty Goal ; J.B.Te Ruki-Chambers (1) Conversions
 Referee: Mr.D.G.Morrison
Thames Valley REPRESENTATIVES {2015 + Total Games}
Name Club 2015 Total for Union
Hayden Anderson Tairua 5 5
Chance Bunce (Capt.) Manukau Rovers (2) 8 9
Colin Cooper Fraser Tech 7 7
Richard Corless Tairua 4 4
Rowan Dare Te Aroha C.O.B. 2 2
Moss Doran Waihi Athletic 8 8
Lance Easton Tairua 8 53
Joshua Elgoran Te Aroha C.O.B. 6 6
Matthew Fisher Hauraki North 8 8
Beau Hamilton Mercury Bay 8 9
David Harrison Hauraki North 8 102
Sione Hifo Ardmore Marist (3) 1 1
Shayne Johnson Tairua 7 7
Tyrone Keith Te Aroha C.O.B. 8 8
Joshua Law Tairua 3 22
Siaosi Lelenoa Waihou 3 11
Kent McFarlane Waihou 8 27
Glen Mclntyre Waihou 7 7
Alan McLean Tairua 3 37
Eden McLean Mercury Bay 3 5
Connor McVerry Mercury Bay 3 3
Joe Murray Waihou 7 55
Kieran Ramage Mercury Bay 2 27
Haerengarangi Renata Coromandel 7 16
Pedro Scardapane Mercury Bay 8 14
Nemani Talemaitoga Paeroa West 5 5
William Tamanalevu Thames 1 6
John Te Ruki-Chambers Waikato University (2) 8 8
Viliketi Tu’ungafasi Te Aroha C.O.B. 2 2
Orisr Turagava Paeroa West 7 7
Hayden Wisnewski Waihou 8 16
1 Auckland RU ; 2 Waikato RU  ; 3 Counties Manukau RU