You are here
Home > 7s Rugby > Sevens Rugby Gets Underway in Thames Valley + Age Grade Representative Prize Giving

Sevens Rugby Gets Underway in Thames Valley + Age Grade Representative Prize Giving

The rugby season continues on in Thames Valley with the Seven aside format coming into play. The Secondary Sevens tournament was held at Boyd Park, Te Aroha last Sunday with First XV, Development, Fourth Grade and Girls all competing in separate grades. The tournament had been deferred from earlier in the year when a clash of school sporting codes prevented the event from taking place. A good turnout ensured a full day of competition and the results are listed below.

1st XV championship
Condor Cup
Thames High School

U17s Development championship
Ian Murphy Cup
Hauraki Plains College

4th Grade championship
TVSS 7’S 4th Grade cup
Hauraki Plains College

Girls u15 championship
Hare Family Cup
Te Aroha College

The Senior Club Rugby Sevens programme gets underway on Saturday with the annual Invitation Sevens Tournament being hosted by the Mercury Bay Rugby Club at Lyon Park, Whitianga. Eight teams are entered and the first game kicks off around 9.00am.

The Mercury Bay 7’s tournament is on this weekend at Lyon Park, Whitianga. First game kicks off at 9.20am.

The Thames Valley Club 7’s Championship will be held the following week by Hauraki North at the Waitakaruru Domain. This has proved to be a popular event in the past and it is hoped there will be a full card of entries on the day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Thames Valley Age Grade Representative Prize Giving was held recently at the Paeroa War Memorial Hall and a good crowd was present to see the next crop of up and coming players receive their awards. Guest speaker, Ross Cooper delivered a stirring address to the gathering and President Kelly Plummer rounded out the event in similar fashion.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Players Player – Trent Bax
Most Outstanding Forward – Jayden McGaffin
Most Outstanding Back – Aidon McKain

Roller Mills
Most Improved Player – Hamish Hart
Best Back – Cody Hannah
Best Forward – Oli Mathis

Most Improved Player – Luke Stowers
Most Outstanding Back – PJ Uiese
Most Outstandng Forward – Bradley Ray

Players Player – AJ Mead
Most Promising Player – Eric Gruythuysen
Most Outsanding Back – Taylin Amohanga
Most Outstanding Forward – Josh Barker

Most Promising Player – Reece Kennedy
Most Outstanding Back – Hendrix Beazley
Most Outstanding Forward – Bray Ward
MVP as voted by Players – Hendrix Beazley

Special Awards –

Plaques presented to Taine Wilson, Coel Kerr, Keegan Dickey and Keegan Harris for their continued commitment to Thames Valley Age Grade Representative Rugby.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

please support our wonderful sponsors - click here -

Similar Articles