You are here
Home > 7s Rugby > 2016 Sevens Seasons Opens with New Venue for Annual Club Tournament

2016 Sevens Seasons Opens with New Venue for Annual Club Tournament

The Mercury Bay Rugby Club hosted this years opening 7’s event at Lyon Park, Whitianga on Saturday. Previously hosted by Waihi Athletic at it’s Kenny Street ground for the last few years, the Mercury Bay club put it’s hand up to hold the tournament when Waihi indicated they wouldn’t be running it this year. A good response from the clubs saw seven teams enter the competition, with hosts Mercury bay putting in an A and B side.

Coromandel proved to be the surprise package on the day, especially after losing their opening game in pool play. They recovered well and went on to meet Mercury Bay A in the grand final. The home side went through qualifying unbeaten and after conceding early points in the final they rallied to come home strongly and defeat Coromandel 38-15. The Mercury Bay club presented a Cup to the winning team, kindly donated by Placemakers Whitianga.

The trophy, aptly named the Seaside Cup, will remain in the Mercury Bay clubrooms, with the champion’s name to be engraved on the Cup each year.

Mercury Bay 7’s at Lyon Park, Whitianga.

Pool Play Results:
Coromandel 12 Mercury Bay A 24
Tairua 24 Waihi Athletic 26
Hauraki North 31 Mercury Bay B 7
Coromandel 17 Thames 10
Hauraki North 12 Waihi Athletic 17
Tairua 46 Mercury Bay B 0
Mercury Bay A 38 Thames 0
Mercury Bay B 10 Waihi Athletic 31
Hauraki North 12 Tairua 14

Semi Finals:
Coromandel 15 Waihi Athletic 7
Mercury Bay A 39 Tairua 7

5th/6th Play Off:
Thames 22 Hauraki North 24

Grand Final:
Coromandel 15 Mercury Bay 38

2016 Champions : Mercury Bay A
Runners Up: Coromandel

please support our wonderful sponsors - click here -

Similar Articles